Going through a moment of self-hatred right now…

Do any of you know how it feels when your hero dies? Well… what about finding out that he died afterwards? That’s kinda how I’m feeling right now.

A few days ago, while I was worrying about things like “Can I get this chapter out before tomorrow?” or “How will tonight’s stream turn out?”… Adam West’s death was announced. Batman died… and I didn’t know.

Adam West is known for many things. One is Mayor West on Family Guy. But his most iconic role was being Batman in the 60’s. I know, I’m a 90’s kid. I grew up watching Batman: The Animated Series and The New Batman Adventures, as well as watching the movies with Micheal Keaton, Val Kilmer, and George Clooney as the caped crusader. But… I also grew up watching reruns of the 1960’s show.

I loved the 1960’s Batman, Adam West played him well. Weather it be corny effects like in the comics, multiple plot devices in his utility belt, or even his conveniently placed motes of transportation for when the Batmobile wasn’t available. Hell, I even like that the Batcopter had “Bat Shark Repellent” on standby for repelling rubber sharks. That series and the TV movies are classics.

Other than Kevin Conroy, Adam West will always be Batman for me. I know, he isn’t the edgier, darker, gritty persona that we have in the movies today. But he was the first… in color. Hell, he’s even done parodies of the 60’s Batman. From The Grey Ghost in the animated series, to the only episode of Kim Possible I could stand (he self-parodied himself), to even playing Batman’s father in the only good Batman: The Brave and the Bold episode “Chill of the Night”, his dedication to that part of his career was admirable. He even played Gotham City’s mayor in The Batman, the least popular of the cartoons next to The Brave and the Bold.

I know, I’ve ranted. But… I still can’t forgive myself at the moment. I will try to get something out this weekend though and will do the live streams. I just need a few days to get my feelings in order.

Leave a Reply

